National Association of Home Builders

Posted by:

Sustainability & Green Building : Sustainability and high performance building incorporates construction and development techniques, materials and designs intended to minimize a home’s impact on the environment and conserve natural resources. It is a practical response to a wide range of issues affecting all consumers: rising energy costs, the need to improve air quality, ensure clean water and minimize water usage. It means:

Energy-efficiency improvements, such as high levels of insulation, efficient HVAC systems, high-performance windows and energy-efficient appliances or lighting

Water conservation measures, such as water-efficient appliances, water-conserving fixtures, filtration systems, and water-efficient or low-maintenance landscaping

Resource conservation techniques, such as using high-performance engineered wood, wood alternatives, allergen-free materials, recycled building materials, sustainably harvested lumber and more durable products

Indoor environmental quality considerations, such as effective HVAC equipment, use of formaldehyde-free finishes, and products with minimum off-gassing or low volatile organic compounds
Site design techniques, like minimizing disruption and preserving open space

Home owner education through orientations and manuals or operating guides 

National Green Building Standard Certification : Why Certify?

To make your homes or communities stand apart from the competition

To expedite permitting, qualify for tax credits and/or earn incentives

To increase the sale and resale value of the property

The National Green Building Standard (NGBS) is an ANSI-accredited, third-party certified, residential building standard that provides a flexible and affordable way to verify your green construction practices in your single-family, multifamily, remodeling and land development projects.

The NGBS Green certification demonstrates high-performance building in six areas: Lot Design and Development, Resource Efficiency, Water Efficiency, Energy Efficiency, Indoor Environmental Quality, and Building Operation & Maintenance. Four levels of certification are available: Bronze, Silver, Gold and Emerald.

The program also offers a NGBS Green Land Development Certification for residential and mixed-use communities. All land development projects are eligible to be certified as long as some of the parcels will eventually be developed with residential buildings. Land development certification is independent of the certification of the homes and buildings that will ultimately be constructed. Four levels of certification are also available in this program, ranging from One-Star through Four-Star.

The NGBS program is administered through the Home Innovation Research Labs.

National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) : The National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) is a trade association that helps to promote the policies that make housing a national priority. Established in 1942, NAHB has been serving its members, the housing industry, and the public at large. NAHB’s affiliates include the NAHB Research Center, which develops, tests and evaluates new materials, methods, standards and equipment to improve the technology and the affordability of America’s housing; and the Home Builders Institute, NAHB’s workforce development arm, which develops and administers a wide range of educational and job training programs.

Home Innovation Research Labs : Home Innovation Research Labs (formerly the NAHB Research Center) was founded in 1964 as a wholly-owned, independent subsidiary of the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB). Originating as a small product testing laboratory, we have since grown to become a full-service market research, consulting, product testing, and accredited third-party certification agency dedicated solely to issues related to the home building industry.

Home Builders Institute (HBI) : Home Builders Institute (HBI), established in 1983 as the workforce development arm of the National Association of Home Builders, is dedicated to the advancement and enrichment of education and training programs serving the needs of the building industry. The creation of this non-profit corporation was a result of the merger of NAHB’s Manpower Development and Training Division, Education Department and the Education Foundation. For more than 30 years, HBI has trained skilled workers in residential construction, promoted the industry as a career and helped the NAHB membership address its need for qualified employees.

ICC 700 National Green Building Standard : The National Green Building Standard is the first residential green building rating system to undergo the full consensus process and receive American National Standards Institute approval. The four threshold levels – Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Emerald – allow builders to achieve entry-level green building, or the highest level of sustainable “green” building incorporating energy savings of 60% or more. Single-family & multi-unit homes, residential remodeling projects, and site developments are all covered in the Standard.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments are closed.